Fence

Standard

That man beyond the fence
What does he want?
I water
He waters haphazordly
I grunt
And he grunts
Shadows in the morning
I sing Queen…
I sing Taylor Swift…
I sing Safetysuit…
But that man beyond the fence
What does he sing?

He yells
He parks his fancy fancy Mercedes
Sometimes at night I come by the towering evergreen
And hum Imogen Heap and shiver and think
About floods and genocides
But that man beyond the fence
What does he think about?

It is me and the gentle wind
I am on the swing next to the fence
I feel despondent
Harsh voices in the house continue
I escaped here
I see through the fence.

Beyond the fence
A pair of cheerless eyes through the cracks
The man
We exist, backs to each
Dark of night swallows, submerges our pain
On either side
Just beyond the fence…

Leave a Reply

