To Honor the Victims of Plane #17

Standard

sometimes I just have to be friends with the monsters in my mind.
they give me no other options.
twisted and churning, my mind begs for a calm that won’t come.
the images of the plane burning keep me up at night.
the voices of grieving families echo in my ears.
who did this? why? how can we punish them?
these three questions are what the news wants.

where is the sympathy for the families and the victims?
I am overcome by the fact that
lying down and thinking
I cannot do anything to help or change the outcome.
all I can do is pray for the victims and the 298 souls where
the night is littered with stars
they are looking down at us
At the remnants of hell while in heaven.

Leave a Reply

