Ode to Lonely Nights

Standard

Oh, lonely Nights
The stars are dimly shining
I lay writing
Hoping one day
I won’t be so lonely
And that I could read this poem
To someone besides you
I have a feeling it will never happen, true
As the cloud that masks the sun
Or the firm looks of okay that masks a breakdown of self
Oh, Lonely nights when my lover
If my lover breaks my heart
I will remember these lonely nights where I did start
At the beginning – square one
Before hypothetical heartbreak starts
But please lonely night end soon
I can spread staring, penetrating the moon
Lonely nights thank you for alone time
It may have been a bit too much
For now my body fears every touch
May have been a bit much
For now my body fears every touch
Get close, tug down shirt
Slowly back down before you get hurt
Lastly lonely nights
Although I am currently hateful
You make me grateful
For everything, faithful too.

Leave a Reply

