The Stone

Standard

I’m on a bench at Wilson Park.
The sun is my glistening comfort.
It’s windy. Again.
Someone told me wind is cleansing.
A woman is stepping on the woodchips
In a somewhat delicate yet haphazard fashion.
Near the swings where I just was.
I am listening to a voice mail.
It’s Jen. We keep missing each other.
Her Halloween party is tomorrow! (so is Halloween.)
“Have you seen a phone today? I lost it yesterday.”
This is my son Grammy. (I was annoyed. But not at this woman. Just at life. But I stopped for a
Microsecond.)
I press star.
“No. Did you lose it here?”
“Yesterday. During Grammy’s game.”
Her name is Kathy. His name is Gram.
He is in 7th grade. He is fun to talk to, not shy.
“I am not doing anything. I can help you look. Where were you?”
“She is going to help us look!”
I tell her I am out on a walk which I am.
“My twin loses things all the time.”
I pull out a photo I Intended on glimpsing at and now it serves a better purpose.
She also lost a silver make up bag. Hundreds of dollars worth.
Two mascaras. $30 each.
Those are in the bathroom. These are different ones she replies.
Two lipsticks. A lip gloss. Eye shadows he asks? No.
This kid really cares about his mom and he isn’t shy about it.
I like this kid.
I wonder why one needs all this at a soccer game.
We find an old red bike pump that I keep.
We look and low and behold a hot pink miracle in the park.
It is like we found a mystical orb, or the Rosetta stone.
Or the Sorcerer’s Stone. (Because I did not want to use her phone, only find it)
But it is merely the stone we have been looking for in the green green grass
The common looking for a missing cell phone turns into camaraderie.
I tell them I do not care much for it but I know it can be expensive. Gram smiles when I say I like watching football and the Bears.
Gram tells me about the movie Red. About all the gun shots that woke him up.
I say, “I love Bruce Willis!”
And about three guys that wanted to “batter” him at the park.
“My mom told them to get the F away.”
“I did not.”
I’m walking home now.
Someone that told me wind is cleansing was right.
I call Jen.

Leave a Reply

