Are the possiblities really limitless?

Standard

“Obviously, I miscalculated a few things,” states Eddy or Edward Morra in the opening scene of this action/thriller. Obviously, I miscalculated a few things about this film. Watching the trailer for the first time, I honestly and whole-heartedly wrote off this film as an utter ridiculous concept that I promised myself I would not subject my mind to. What could a plot line have to say that will keep me engaged for the hour and a half duration of the film? The “magic pill” plot did not enthrall me in the slightest that was until I witnessed, “Limitless” a film by Neil Burger starring Bradley Cooper and Robert De Niro. “Why is it the moment the world exceeds your wildest dreams, a knife suddenly appears at your back?” Edward asks the audience in a short yet astoundingly meaningful monologue at the beginning of the movie when he is on the verge on jumping to his death. You see that statement right there starting drawing me in. Sucking me in to this bizarre world that Eddy lives, for he was losing his livelihood and has his girlfriend break up with him until one day he runs into his ex-brother-in-law. In the time it takes you to swallow an aspirin, our main character swallows your attention and drives you on this insane rollercoaster. Brad Cooper shocks and surprises at every turn. “I once was blind, but now I see.” A cliché? Not if you are taking NZT-48 like eddy. Although someone may be singing it at your funeral soon…

Our main character is seen writing an entire novel in five days, learning languages in three, and doing things that we spend and scrutinize our life on in mere minutes. The drug he walks away obtained from the ex-brother-in-law gives him not super nature power but the ability to tap into receptors in the brain, allowing our Eddy to go from depression to dollars, millions in a matter of days. He can now use 100% of his brain instead of the 20% that we humans use. “Enhanced Eddy” is someone completely different from our protagonist, someone walking tall with big time investor Carl Van Loon, (Robert De Niro) when the old Eddy did nothing significant. “He’s Houdini. He’s a prophet of our times.” Lindy, his girlfriend, reads from the New York Times. To describe the movie in one sentence -, “If I’m not moving forward, I felt like I was going to explode.” The cinematography in this film is so brilliant it is reminiscent of Black Swan, with a memorable scene of letters floating and filling the screen. Don’t write off movies because of poorly made trailers! Watch “Limitless”, a brilliantly choreographed action film, to see if his ex-wife was correct in stating that, “NOBODY can operate at that level of brain capacity and not crash.” More importantly think about your own NZT, whether it is coffee, smoking, sex, food, or money and ask yourself, are you able to give it up? Or with it, are the possibilities really limitless?

Leave a Reply

