Sitting under the Christmas fireplace

Standard

It was when we all sat down to take a break

from cleaning and cooking

That we realized we weren’t spending time with each other

We sat quickly listening to the fireplace crackle

And then I looked at my mom and she smiled back

She forgave me for arguing earlier

I wanted to say something, but I sat quietly

We all did.

I thought about the Christmas mass

I thought about Wiligia,

I thought about my twin.

Then I wondered what everyone else could be pondering

In this Christmas moment of silence.

It had to come to an end as all good things do,

But I have it in my memory bank.

And it cannot be taken.

Leave a Reply

