Finding Yourself by Getting Lost: Wild

Standard

Upon watching this trailer, I thought I had a clear vision for this film. I am incredibly glad that I was wrong. It was not straight forward, in fact it was awkward and uncomfortable at times and I really struggled with this film. However, it is a raw and honest portrayal of life of what is life if not awkward and uncomfortable? I realized the sadness felt by Cheryl, our main character was so relatable to every person that has ever struggled with something in their lives. To be honest, her life through an unfortunate and horrific event changes and Cheryl decided to go on a 1,000 hike alone and she “denies her wounds come from the same place as her power.” Something I really loved about the film was the way authors were incorporated. Whenever she arrived at a new part of the trail she would write a famous line such as “I have promises to keep. And miles to go before I sleep.” Robert Frost is the author of this fragment and the quotes she comes up with on her own are tear jerking. She said she lost herself in the wilderness of her grief. The flashbacks of her mom were so hauntingly beautiful and really make you evaluate your own life. It’s scary how powerful this film is in causing that self-reflection. This movie shows a struggle that anyone of us can relate to, to pain and loss and being lost in the pain of your loss. I don’t want to give much away other than to say keep the kids at home for this one, but I think if you need to be inspired you will. And if you don’t, you might just be inspired nonetheless. Reese Witherspoon as I have never seen her before has me under a spell this entire film. This film is magnificent not because it will make you happy. It will make you think, “What if I forgive myself if I was sorry?”

Leave a Reply

