Lights, Camera, Critic!

Standard

I remember it being a childhood ambition of mine. I would go to the theater and say yes, three stars and my friends would just giggle. Of course at that time I was highly influenced by male roles, and even now I become smitten a little with the character. Since I saw movies go from a single story to becoming an epic, I wished I could be like Ebert, a man with a career spanning 40 years! I love seeing movies in the theater, and unlike music where I love nearly everything, the field of criticizing films needs someone to distinguish between the bad, the average, and the exceptional. This is something I would be phenomenal at. The theater has an allure to me. I love comparing and contrasting films with my friends, and turning a love into a career would make it a lasting one.

Every weekend I try to watch a movie or two that I had never seen before and let my knowledge of movies develop and expand. No movie is off limits, they all take me to a different place. A different place, like a blissful place; I’m in the actors’ shoes and I love to “act” as if that’s me! Like books, movies teach life lessons and show you the world as you have never seen it before. Lessons of countries and brother torn by war, of heroes and the villains that make or break their character are invigorating for me. Of men banding together for a cause. A love story, complicated, flooded with the elements of our times. Not every movie is good, but each brilliant story has a reason for its brilliance. I believe my open-mindedness towards movies and the world in general, that my various friends have helped to establish would keep me unbiased.

Leave a Reply

