Was it just a game to you?

Standard

I am really tired and I just can’t sleep

I want to be in my bed

Dreaming deep, not of you

But I rise, sadness painted on my lonely face

I have one burning, painful question

Before my head hits the pillow

Before I retire for the evening

Was it a game to you?

I can’t shake you.

I try so hard it’s painful.

It’s been years since I’ve seen you

Since we talked face to face

But before I sleep,

Answer me this

Was it all just a game to you?

Was I just a pawn in your twisted chess set

Did you ever care at all?

Leave a Reply

