At Worse or at Best

Standard

Paris, Warsaw, Rome

Quite Far away from home

Never been on a plane before

My friends think I’m insane.

Traveling is quite an endeavor

Though I’ve never actually never

NEVER

Been past U.S. borders, which are limits,

Two sad words. I hear rather I’ve heard

In my head

Sneak slyly to Europe

Get yourself up from your bed

 

Paris- The tower, the Arc

The Louvre Museum, Notre Dame

But I want to go with you

Not someone like my mom

I would simple as pie, make a plan

Do whatever I can

Sell my books, clothes, sell it ALL

I want to see my hopes rise, not fall

Rise like a falcon from a sycamore tree

Fly me to Paris by 3:00

With you, my male companion

I would ask, you wouldn’t say no

I’d go with you even if we had to walk

to the airport in a blizzard

if I had to duel with an experienced wizard

Or perhaps box an oversized lizard

Just to see if the grass is greener when

You paint it, mixing your own shade by yourself

 

I swear I’d do everything

The packing the cleaning

Dreaming, gleaming

Anything just myself

Pm that plane

No, I’ll travel first class with you,

With coca-cola in my glass

 

Warsaw-

I take you show you things I’ve never seen

Show you where my country bleeds from

The unhealed wounds of a mad man’s past

From the concentration Camps and the world’s largest cemetery are there

On the camp and poof

Suddenly you are hit with it

The cold truth

 

Off to Rome

To visit a dome

To hold your hand

In a foreign land

Just us two SHOPPING!

Dior, Chanel

I demand to see it with my own eyes

Not some “surprise” from a photo album

 

Too see is to believe

I must, I crave with my entire being- to see the world

My heart is now trapped in gallows

Restraints leave me trapped

My mind is zapped of all rational thought

 

I would so do whatever it is they do

In planes

Hold onto my fun by the reins

Me, you, and our favorite musicians and movie stars

We would hold a most lavish feast, an exquisite party for exquisite people

 

I would wear an elegant sapphire dress

Stunning, speechless, the beauty that

Transcends comprehension

I want to see snowflakes upon our arrival

You quickly, gentle place your jacket

Upon my nervous shoulder, the ones your hands calm

Crystals of snow falling upon

Our could-not-be-more-perfect

First Kiss

 

Eventually overcome by sleep

I would escape to the subconscious

Resting gracefully on your shoulders

Gentle yet firm

As I start to squirm you lull

Me back to sleep

I want this European Quest of three cities to be

Best at worst

And Phenomenal at best.

Leave a Reply

