Bitterness and a Broken Vow

Standard

 

I rest here on the floor

Completely crestfallen and alone

Not wanted anywhere not even home

Broken how?

Bitterness and a broken vow.

 

They severed my contentment

Smashed my heart

Then spat it out and ripped it apart

Broken how?

Bitterness and a broken vow.

 

I lay here yet again,

In the same spot

Everyone denying it

The whole lot

While I’m broken, shattered

Mangled, Tangled in a knot

Of what is and what’s not.

Broken how?

Bitterness and a broken vow.

 

I sit and work among them

Stitching my tainted heart at the hem

Trying to sew the pieces up quick and strong

So next time the emotional pain won’t last so painfully long

But something is bound to bounce

Off my the wrong way and break

Please, consider what’s at stake

The slashing open of an old gash, broken once more

All you need to do is look at the core

Of bitterness and a broken vow.

You wanted to know how they broke me.

You know now.

Leave a Reply

