To the class of 2017. No rushing. Savor the moment.

Standard

That warm, rainy day was filled with so much rushing

Rushing to dress

Rushing to put on makeup

Rushing to eat breakfast

Rushing to gather guests

Rushing to get through the rain

Rushing to get everything in order

It felt like it was going to fast

When was I going to stop and admire the day?

Finally once I sat down for the ceremony

Of my college graduation

There was no rushing

No sir. Not anymore.

There was only kindness

There was cheering

There was clapping (so much clapping)

There was reverence for teachers and students

There was so much love in the room

Love for Shimer

Love for my teachers and staff

Love for the students

Memories of my time came flooding back

Memories of different pieces

It was surreal

The speeches truly special

Our school song

Much different than most others

Sung by a man with a big heart, a guitar, and a raspy voice

During that ceremony there was harmony

After the ceremony there was chaos to eat

To take pictures

To meet people

To introduce people to my family

But

During the ceremony

I remember most

My walk across the stage

That moment when I became a graduate, hugging my president, my friend

Nothing would ever be the same

Now over a month later

I reflect

And I deeply appreciate

That they gave us that special time

No rushing

Savoring the moment

Leave a Reply

