Our “Separate” Ways (throwback)

Standard

I was younger,

Still a girl

Too damn smart for my own good

(I still am)

Hard headed, thus walking a

Street named desire but

I walked this lonely

Road on my own, my ears

The only ones that heard

Of my breakdown

 

We were only fourteen then

When he found me in the Gold Gym

So lost in my secrets

I wonder how he managed to find me

And gave me the best advice I ever knew

Made me realize that it’s not just how much you love

But how much others love you

It was just a moment, and we bounced

The basketball a while

I liked his skills, he my style

And I swear he knew me better then I did

Created a smile after he found where I hid

 

Now he’s good for a hi

And a bye- eyes lingering for more

Unbalanced friendship

And nothing more

We walked in the same Maine East hallway

Our “separate” ways

Just like that, like we never met

The only things left are

Tattered photographs, scribbles in my yearbook,

And a letter of apology

 

Maybe one day

I will walk on that street again

And someone will catch me before I fall like he did

And set me free to fly (I can tell you one thing)

I’ll remember that day in the gym till I die

Leave a Reply

